Marijuana Worker Permits - Oregon Liquor Control Commission

Effective September 20, 2016

OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
DIVISION 25
RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA

MARIJUANA WORKER PERMITS

Source: Oregon.gov

845-025-5500
Marijuana Worker Permit and Retailer Requirements
(1) A marijuana worker permit is required for any individual who performs work for or on behalf of a marijuana retailer, producer, processor or wholesaler if the individual participates in:

(a) The possession, securing or selling of marijuana items at the premises for which the license has been issued;
(b) The recording of the possession, securing or selling of marijuana items at the premises for which the license has been issued;
(c) The verification of any document described in ORS 475B.170; or
(d) The direct supervision of a person described in subsections (a) to (c) of this section.
(2) An individual who is required by section (1) of this rule to hold a marijuana worker permit must carry that permit on his or her person at all times when performing work on behalf of a marijuana retailer.
(3) A person who holds a marijuana worker permit must notify the Commission in writing within 10 days of any conviction for a misdemeanor or felony.
(4) A marijuana retailer must verify that an individual has a valid marijuana worker permit issued in accordance with OAR 845-025-5500 to 845-025-5590 before allowing the individual to perform any work at the licensed premises.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215, 475B.218 & Sections 16 & 17, Chapter 23, Oregon Laws 2016
845-025-5520
Marijuana Worker Applications
(1) In order to obtain a marijuana worker permit an individual must submit an application on a form prescribed by the Commission. The application must contain the applicant’s:
(a) Name;
(b) Mailing address;
(c) Date of birth;
(d) Signature; and
(e) Response to conviction history questions.
(2) In addition to the application an applicant must submit:
(a) A copy of a driver's license or identification card issued by one of the fifty states in the United States of America or a passport; and
(b) Proof of having passed the worker permit examination.
(3) If an application does not contain all the information requested or if the information required in section (2) of this rule is not provided to the Commission, the application will be returned to the individual as incomplete.
(4) If an application is returned as incomplete, the individual may reapply at any time.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
845-025-5540
Marijuana Worker Permit Denial Criteria
(1)The Commission must deny an initial or renewal application if the applicant:
(a) Is not 21 years of age or older;

(b) Has had a marijuana license or worker permit revoked for violation of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395 or any rule adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395 within two years of the date of the application;
(2) The Commission may deny an initial or renewal application, unless the applicant shows good cause to overcome the denial criteria, if the applicant:
(a) Has been convicted of a felony for possession, manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance within three years of the date the Commission received the application, except for convictions for the manufacture or delivery of marijuana if the date of the conviction is two or more years prior to the date of the application or renewal;
(b) Has been convicted of a felony for a crime involving violence within three years of the date the Commission received the application;
(c) Has been convicted of a felony for a crime of dishonesty or deception, including but not limited to theft, fraud, or forgery, within three years of the date the Commission received the application.
(d) Has been convicted of an offense under ORS 475.856, 475.858, 475.860 or 475.862 within three years of the date the Commission received the application.
(e) Has more than one conviction for any of the crimes listed in subsections (2)(a) to (d) of this rule within five years of the date the Commission received the application.
(f) Has violated any provision of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395 or any rule adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395;
(g) Makes a false statement to the Commission.
(3) If the Commission denies an application under subsection (2)(f) to (g) of this rule the individual will not be eligible for a permit for two years from the date the Commission received the application.
(4) A Notice of Denial must be issued by the Commission in accordance with ORS Chapter 183.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215, 475B.218 & Section 13, Chapter 24, Oregon Laws 2016
845-025-5560
Marijuana Worker Examination Requirements
(1) An individual must, prior to applying for a marijuana worker permit pass the required examination.
(2) An individual must score at least 70 percent on the marijuana worker examination in order to pass.
(3) The Commission may require additional education or training for permit holders at any time, with adequate notice to permit holders.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218

845-025-5580
Marijuana Worker Renewal Requirements
(1) An individual must renew his or her marijuana worker permit every five years by submitting a renewal application, prescribed by the Commission and the applicable fee specified in OAR 845-025-1060.
(2) Renewal applications will be reviewed in accordance with OAR 845-025-5520 and 845-025-5540.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
845-025-5590
Suspension or Revocation
(1) The Commission may suspend or revoke the permit of any marijuana worker if the worker:
(a) Has been convicted of a felony, except for a felony described ORS 475B.218(4)(a);
(b) Has violated a provision of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395 or these rules; or
(c) Makes a material false statement to the Commission.
(2) The Commission may suspend or revoke the permit for any marijuana worker for any reasons that would be the basis for denying a permit application under OAR 845-025-5540.
(3) If an individual’s permit is revoked under sections (1)(b) or (c) of this rule future applications will be denied if received within two years of the date the final order of revocation was issued.
(4) A notice of suspension or revocation must be issued by the Commission in accordance with ORS 183.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475B.215 & 475B.218